ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

It is indeed a great pleasure to express my appreciation to all those who have influenced and encouraged me directly or indirectly over the course of my Ph.D. tenure.

First of all, I would like to express my deep sense of gratitude to my Ph.D. supervisor Prof. Niranjan Karak, Department of Chemical Sciences, Tezpur University for his guidance, support and motivation throughout my Ph.D. work. His inspiring dedication towards research and indomitable spirit would always encourage me for my future endeavours.

I am immensely grateful to Prof. Tapas Kumar Maiti and Mr. Somnath Maji from Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, and Dr. Biman B. Mandal and Mr. Manishekhar Kumar from Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati for their co-operation in carrying out all the biological experiments.

I offer my sincere acknowledgement and humble respect to my doctoral committee members Dr. Pankaj Bharali, Department of Chemical Sciences, Tezpur University and Dr. Manabendra Mandal, Department of Molecular Biology & Biotechnology, Tezpur University for their timely help and advice.

It is my duty to acknowledge Prof. Ramesh Chandra Deka, HoD, Department of Chemical Sciences, Tezpur University for allowing me to carry out my research in the department.

I am immensely indebted to Prof. S.K. Dolui, Prof. N.S. Islam, Prof. T.K. Maji, Prof. R.K. Dutta, Prof. R.C. Deka, Prof. A.K. Phukan, Prof. A.J. Thakur, Dr. R. Borah, Dr. P. Puzari, Dr. P. Bharali, Dr. N. Gogoi, Dr. K.K. Bania, Dr. S.K. Das, Dr. U. Bora, Dr. S. Pratihar, Dr. B. Sarma and Dr. S.P. Mahanta, faculty members of Department of Chemical Sciences, Tezpur University for their valuable suggestions and support.

My heartfelt thanks go to all the members of APNL family. I am sincerely grateful to Dr. Buddhadeb Roy, Dr. Rocktotpal Konwarh, Dr. Hemjyoti Kalita, Dr. Sujata Pramanik, Dr. Beauty Das, Dr. Shaswat Barua, Dr. Bibekananda De, Dr. Suman Thakur, Dr. Harsh S.N., Dr. Vijay Kumar Das, Ms. Rituparna Duarah, Ms. Deepshikha Hazarika, Ms. Aditi Saikia, Mr. Gaurav Gogoi and Mr. Rajarshi Bayan for their manifold help, active co-operation and constant inspiration during my Ph.D. work.

I offer my earnest thanks to Dr. Biren Gohain, Mr. Nipu Dutta, Mr. Raju K. Borah, Mr. Sankur Phukan, Mr. Biraj Borah, Mr. Arup Chakrabarty, Mr. Manoranjan Sarma, Mr. Anil Hazarika and Mr. Prakash Kurmi for their assistance regarding instrumental analysis. SAIF, NEHU, Shillong is acknowledged for TEM imaging. I am personally thankful to Mr. Joston Nongkynrih for TEM analysis.

I would like to thank Ms. Babita Das and Mr. Bubul Das, office staff of Department of Chemical Sciences, Tezpur University, for their help during my Ph.D. work.

I wish to thank all my friends, research scholars of Department of Chemical Sciences,
Tezpur University for their help, encouragement and support during the course of my
research work.

I am highly grateful to DBT, Government of India for the financial support.

I take this opportunity to express my genuine gratefulness to Mrs. Susmita Karak for her great affection, which I continue to enjoy during my stay at Tezpur University.

Finally, I owe heartfelt gratitude to my parents and my grandmother for their blessings, support and constant inspiration. The endless love from them will always be in my heart that will inspire me in every step of my future life.

Last but not the least I would like to thank the Almighty for everything.

Place: Tezpur	Satyabrat Gogoi
Date:	